Boiron Calendula Cream: What the Label and Research Cover

Boiron's Calendula Cream is sold in the US as a homeopathic first-aid product, and its own page gives no potency and no inactive ingredient list. That matters more than any texture or scent review, because it determines whether the calendula research you may have read about applies to the tube at all. We make a calendula infused oil, not a cream, and we have not used or tested Boiron's, so this is a reading of what the company and the research each say.

Calendula oil bottle

Calendula Oil

Our own small-batch calendula oil, in sizes from 0.5 oz to bulk.

From $13.99

Shop Calendula Oil →

What Boiron's page says, and what it leaves out

As of 14 October 2026 the product page describes a "light and creamy water-based formula" made with shea butter, from a single plant-based active ingredient, Calendula officinalis. It is sold for cuts, scrapes, chafing, minor burns and sunburn, in a 2.5 oz tube, and called suitable for all ages and skin types. It also says: "Claims based on traditional homeopathic practice, not accepted medical evidence. Not FDA evaluated." A footnote says "C, K, CK and X are homeopathic dilutions" without saying which applies to this cream (Boiron USA, Calendula Cream). The page lists no inactive ingredients, directions or warnings, so for those, read the carton. Boiron's gel page shows the same single active, a different set of uses (rashes, razor burn, insect bites) and no potency either (Boiron USA, Calendula Gel).

The company's own disclaimer is the most useful sentence on the page, and we would not add to it. FDA states that no homeopathic products are FDA-approved and that they have not been reviewed for safety and effectiveness (FDA, Homeopathic Products).

The trial everyone cites used a different Boiron product

If you have seen "Boiron calendula beat the standard cream in a clinical trial," here is the source. In a 2004 randomized phase III trial of 254 women having radiotherapy for breast cancer, grade 2 or higher skin reactions occurred in 41% of those using a calendula ointment and 63% of those using trolamine (P<.001), and the comparator was not a placebo. The product was named in the paper as "Pommade au Calendula par Digestion" from Boiron, France (Pommier et al., J Clin Oncol, 2004). The EU assessment report describes that ointment as 20% fresh calendula aerial parts in petroleum jelly, and notes the trial was single-blinded (EMA/HMPC, 2018).

That is a petroleum-jelly herbal ointment from an extraction process, not a water-based cream whose page refers to homeopathic dilutions. Boiron's cream page does not say what its preparation or strength is, so we cannot link the trial result to the cream, and nothing we read does either. Our reasoning: an effect measured on a 20% digested ointment says little about a product of unknown potency in a different base.

Even for the trial product, the picture is mixed. A blinded Swedish trial of 411 women found severe skin reactions in 23% using a calendula cream and 19% using a standard cream, no significant difference (Sharp et al., Eur J Oncol Nurs, 2013). A 2021 Australian trial that recruited fewer than half its planned participants found no statistically significant difference either (Siddiquee et al., Australas J Dermatol, 2021). The Oncology Nursing Society's 2020 guideline suggests against calendula for radiodermatitis (Gosselin et al., Oncol Nurs Forum, 2020), and the 2013 MASCC guideline recommended against it on grounds of insufficient evidence (Wong et al., Support Care Cancer, 2013). Anyone having radiotherapy should ask the radiation oncology team what to put on the skin and should not decide from a brand page.

What the label actually lets you conclude

What to check on the carton before you decide

Because the web page leaves gaps, the carton is where the answers are. Look for the active ingredient line with its dilution notation, since the page's own footnote says C, K, CK and X denote homeopathic dilutions. Read the inactive ingredient list for fragrance, preservatives and the base, and check the allergen statement if you react to botanicals. Note the lot number and expiry. If the carton gives no dilution or the lot is missing, that is a reason to ask the company, as it would be for any product. We cannot tell you what is on that carton, because we have not handled one.

Cream or oil: which question are you asking?

A cream and an infused oil are different products. We cannot compare how much calendula each holds, because Boiron does not state its strength and we do not publish composition numbers for ours. What we can describe is our process: an infusion of calendula alone, brought into a carrier oil, with no preservatives, tocopherol or stabilizers added. Each batch is tested by independent third-party labs, and the lot number gets you the paperwork from [email protected]. That is the kind of document you could ask Boiron for as well.

Choose by the job:

For broader comparison of other calendula products see our three-brand comparison and how brands differ on their labels.

Our summary of the Boiron cream is short: Boiron says what it is, what it claims rest on, and what it does not specify; the trial usually cited was done on a different Boiron product. If you buy it, buy it knowing that, and for anything beyond a trivial scrape let a clinician decide.

Calendula oil bottle

Calendula Oil

Nature's Golden Botanical, bottled: small-batch calendula oil in sizes from 0.5 oz to bulk.

From $13.99

Shop Calendula Oil →

Sources & Further Reading